Simplicity 1355

Simplicity 1355-1

I bought this funky fabric on a screaming deal at Hancock (~$2y) and wasn’t sure what to make. I wanted the dolphin front shorts with pompom’s. But, it is hard to find good quality small pompom’s that wouldn’t make the hem stiff or wacky. No pompoms it was. I used the short’s to this Simplicity pattern, very basic, overlapped the front 6″ and cut the hem radius with a large dinner plate. Added in a short stiff waist between an elastic band waist. The results are great as long as I rock a half tuck with my shirt because the elastic waistband gives me more back than I need…

Simplicity 1355-2Simplicity 1355-3

 

My review:

Pattern Description:
Jumpsuit, but I only used the shorts.
Pattern Sizing:
Cut a small.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Not really.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Didn’t follow them.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Easy to use and alter.
Fabric Used:
Silk something-or-other from Hancock.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Used the shorts, made a dolphin front overlap with a fixed front and elastic waste.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, and yes. I made the jumpsuit once but the back was too open. Next time I will try the C/D top.
Conclusion:
Great basic for altering.

Leave a Reply

