Vogue 1314

A go to pattern (TNT) for anytime I don’t have enough fabric to do something wrapped, draped or just want a easy and quick sewing win. You cannot go wrong with this. The simple details in the pattern elevate what is essentially a simple sack into a smokin’ and work appropriate frock. Throw a lightweight tailored jacket on during the day for spring and summer then add some gaudy jewelry and platform wedges for going out on the town at night. Sadly most of my days are spent indoors at work, which is why I spend the majority of my sewing hours looking for and creating interesting work attire than can swing into my social life.

20150607_095319_resized20150607_101709_resized 20150607_103232_resized 20150607_102529_resized 20150624_182931_resized 20150624_182958_resized 20150624_183026_001_resized

My full review can also be found here.

Vogue 1314

Pattern Description:
Great form fitting and easy dress.
Pattern Sizing:
I cut the 6, usually I cut the smallest size in Vogue. Plus this is a super stretchy knit so I wanted to keep it tight enough to gather and not slouch.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, but I wasn’t about to lay in a window to take pictures.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t follow them.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
EASY & FAST!!!!
Fabric Used:
A super stretchy and bright knit.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I omitted the sleeves, gathered the side before sewing it together and dropped the neckline about 1.5″. With the gathering I didn’t need the elastic on the sides. I also cover-stitched the sleeves, neck and hem line with the wide needle setting. The pattern is so busy you don’t pick it up.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely, this is not my first time and it won’t be my last. Great for work because it hits just at or below the knee and great for going out because it is form fitting.
Conclusion:
Sew this!!! It is flattering for every body type and very easy to customize.

Leave a Reply

