McCalls 6954

July 4th is my favorite holiday. We used to host a yearly BBQ but people with kids, eventually everyone we knew, would leave early to go watch fireworks. So now we go to other people’s parties and then with them to watch fireworks. Which is fine because it is far less work to show up with something from Trader Joe’s. But, I do miss putting together my America happy fact conversation starters. History is usually poorly taught and widely misunderstood and so when people don’t understand the uniqueness of the American Experiment my heart weeps.

So, to cheer me up on a holiday that is mostly celebrated for time off work, BBQ and beer I decided to make a dress. This is a pattern I have made a couples times. I really liked the red, white and blue colors in a southwest type pattern. Paired with my peep toe ankle boots this will also get out on the town at some point, I am thinking a country music concert in Austin.

My full review can also be found here.

McCalls 6954

Pattern Description:
Oh so comfy muumuu.
Pattern Sizing:
Small, see alterations below.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Didn’t look at them.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
So easy, this took about an hour.
Fabric Used:
Jersey.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This fabric was too heavy and stretchy so I had to shorten the shoulder length about two inches and take in both sides at the armpits two inches. I also had less than the recommended amount of fabric so I cut the front and back on the fold and tapered the sides down towards the hem. This is the D hem, shorter in the front and longer in the back, based on the length of fabric I had to work with. I wanted a less dramatic racer back effect and cut the middle wider so I could wear different bras, the pattern looked too narrow for the one racer back bra I own.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?!
Of course. This is going to make a great July 4th red white and blue ensemble first poolside and then to a concert in the park. ‘Merica

Conclusion:
A great staple, easy sewing, flexible for alterations- it’s a winner.

Leave a Reply

