Vogue 8379- Swinging 70’s Wrap Dress

I love finding mystery fabrics at thrift stores, especially when I guess that they are vintage! Why sew something with fabric that you could possibly see at the mall, am I right? Fabric print and quality is what makes the difference between a dress from Forever 21 and a dress for DVF. Both can make a wrap dress out of a funky knit print but the quality of materials makes all the difference. And while I am a fan of DVF it seems the quality of their knit wrap dresses, printed on rather than dyed jersey, is more typical of F21 than the quality I would expect from a $300 DFV label. What’s a girl to do? Make her own for $5.99. Pattern on sale from Joanns + fabric from the thrift shop = score.  ♪♪♪ I’m gonna pop some tags, Only got twenty dollars in my pocket, I – I – I’m hunting, looking for a come-up, This is f’ing awesome ♪♪♪

1 2

4  6 5

Check out my review below or here.

Pattern Description:
True wrap dress with a slight 70’s flare.
Pattern Sizing:
Cut the size 8, I always cut the smallest size in wrap patterns or stretchy fabrics.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love how similar it is to the very expensive vintage DFV patterns, not to mention retail! The collar is a good proportion and the circle skirt makes it more flirty and fun for life after work.
Fabric Used:
This is a mystery fabric found at a thrift store. The fabric is very light but also stiff and has its own structure. It irons well so the pleats are crisp, the only downside is sitting and sweating makes the fabric crinkle.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None, other than I put a waist hole on both sides of the garment for some reason, doh.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely. This would probably be better in a knit rather than a weave since the directions tell me so. I am always amazed at how different fabric make totally different pieces. Next time I might even read the directions before getting started.
Conclusion:
Make it in a jersey, then tell me how it goes.

2 thoughts on “Vogue 8379- Swinging 70’s Wrap Dress

Leave a Reply

