Simplicity 1059 Jiffy Dress

So, I moved to LA. As in proper. So between the move and getting used to massive amounts of people out ALL THE TIME with nothing ever on the shelves I haven’t had much time to sew. Plus, the nearest Joann’s is about 6 miles, which is 20 miles in suburbia.

Jiffy dress, yes please! But, it was more than four pieces. In fact eleven (including the waist tie) plus a zipper. Ain’t nobody got time for that. To speed things up I cut the front as one piece with a scoop neck, back as one piece omitting the zipper and ditched the neck facing. With a serger that overlocks there is no reason to face a knit. To spruce it up I added a 2″ cuff at the end of the blouson sleeves. All that fabric in a little elastic lined cuff would be a let down.

It’s a sack but between the pleats at the neckline, cuffs on the sleeves and a belt for days you aren’t eating three Christmas dinner in a row you’re ready for a night out on the town. Or, at least to the grocery store in Santa Monica.

I tried to get some good shots of the neck pleat but this fabric is like a Magic Eye 3D puzzle, good luck finding it….

C1.1.jpgC2.2.jpg2.jpg

Simplicity 1059 review below and here:

Pattern Description:
Jiffy brand retro style dress from the 60’s (maybe)
Pattern Sizing:
I made the size 6, since it is a tent.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, but I am digging the flowered version they have. Perhaps I will find a good knit for one with a plunging neck line, very Trina Turk.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t use them.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I assume “Jiffy” was a play on getting it done quickly. I am sure it would have gone together quickly but I didn’t have time for 11 pieces and a zipper.
Fabric Used:
Knit, of some cotton jersey variety. All I know is knit and weave so all the options in the drop down menu confuse me.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
To speed things up I cut the front as one piece with a scoop neck, back as one piece omitting the zipper and ditched the neck facing. With a serger that overlocks there is no reason to face a knit. To spruce it up I added a 2″ cuff at the end of the blouson sleeves. All that fabric in a little elastic lined cuff would be a let down.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely! If you need an easy sewing win after a disappointing and difficult jacket experiment (not that i know anything about that) then this would be a good rebound project.
Conclusion:
Sew it, belt it, love it.

Leave a Reply

