Butterick 5601- Spring in Tuscany Dress

For our anniversary a couple years ago my husband and I were walking to a restaurant in Beverly Hills and I saw this in a storefront…

New Image

May have been Prada or Oscar De La Renta but regardless my heart went a flutter and I thought want-it-need-it-gotta-have-it-get-on-my-body. I took a picture so I didn’t have to obsess over it all night, I could save that for later. I never looked up the price because if you have to ask you can’t afford it and despite my love of the look I can’t stand to wear blue.

So, I created a doppelganger and looking back at the photo I prefer my fabric. This Butterick pattern has a really lovely and slimming bodice.

1324

Read my pattern review below or here.

Pattern Description:

Dress with an interesting front bodice and triangle back ‘cut out’.

Pattern Sizing:
I made a size 6.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Easy to sew together. Business in the front and party in the back.

Fabric Used:
A cotton tablecloth from Cost Plus.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I might have lengthened the skirt, I usually do just in case.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! The inspiration for this was a dress I saw in a storefront in Beverly Hills. This fabric made it even better.

Conclusion:
Easy project, the shape of the bodice front and straps are slimming.

 

 

One thought on “Butterick 5601- Spring in Tuscany Dress

Leave a Reply

